Indonesia LPDP Scholarship 2026
Lembaga Pengelola Dana Pendidikan (LPDP)
Full Ride
Funding guide · updated 2026-09-04
A scholarship figure means nothing until you set it against what the year actually costs. These are median annual fees — over the programmes billed per year — from the 8,893 Germany programmes in the Global Admissions catalogue, not survey estimates.
Source: Global Admissions programme catalogue, 2026-09-04. Tuition is the published international fee and excludes living costs, which a tuition-only award does not cover.
Funded by a national government or its agencies. These carry the largest budgets and the earliest deadlines, and some require you to return home for a set period after graduating.
Lembaga Pengelola Dana Pendidikan (LPDP)
Full Ride
DAAD
Full Ride
European Commission (Erasmus Mundus)
Full Ride
Petroleum Technology Development Fund (PTDF)
Full Ride
European Commission (Erasmus Mundus)
Full Ride
European Commission (Erasmus Mundus)
Full Ride
European Commission (Erasmus Mundus)
Full Ride
European Commission (Erasmus Mundus)
Full Ride
European Commission (Erasmus Mundus)
Full Ride
European Commission (Erasmus Mundus)
Full Ride
European Commission (Erasmus Mundus)
Full Ride
European Commission (Erasmus Mundus)
Full Ride
European Commission (Erasmus Mundus)
Full Ride
European Commission (Erasmus Mundus)
Full Ride
European Commission (Erasmus Mundus)
Full Ride
European Commission (Erasmus Mundus)
Full Ride
European Commission (Erasmus Mundus)
Full Ride
European Commission (Erasmus Mundus)
Full Ride
European Commission (Erasmus Mundus)
Full Ride
European Commission (Erasmus Mundus)
Full Ride
DAAD
Full Ride
European Commission (Erasmus Mundus)
Full Ride
European Commission (Erasmus Mundus)
Full Ride
European Commission (Erasmus Mundus)
Full Ride
European Commission (Erasmus Mundus)
Full Ride
DAAD
EUR 992/month + EUR 460/yr study allowance + insurance + travel; tuition not covered
DAAD
EUR 1,400/month + EUR 460/yr research allowance + insurance + travel; possible rent/family add-ons
DAAD
EUR 992/month + insurance + travel lump sum + EUR 160 in-Germany travel; 10 weeks-3 months in summer
DAAD
EUR 992-2,760/month by level (grad/doctoral/postdoc/senior) + travel + health insurance
German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) and private sponsors
EUR 300/month (EUR 150 sponsor + EUR 150 federal); income-independent, no effect on BAfoeG
DAAD
Monthly stipend of €992 (graduates) or €1,400 (PhD), travel allowance, insurance and tuition.
Administered by the institution itself and usually assessed alongside your admission application, so you apply to the programme first.
University of Hamburg
Up to EUR 992 per month for 12 months; renewable up to 2 years total
University of Stuttgart
Monthly stipend, around EUR 250-400/mo for the final-stage line; amount and duration set case-by-case
RWTH Aachen University
EUR 500 per month, for one to five months within the funding period
Bard College Berlin
Tuition waiver
University of Bayreuth
EUR 300 per month (half federal, half private sponsors)
University of Cologne
Generally EUR 300 per month, awarded through annual calls
Constructor University
Merit award up to €10,000 based on school GPA, automatic on admission
University of Freiburg
EUR 300 per month for one year (half private sponsors, half federal)
Technische Universitaet Berlin (TU Berlin)
EUR 2,700 total: six monthly installments of EUR 450
University of Göttingen
One-time €1,000 grant for study-related expenses (around 10 per cycle)
University of Münster
Up to €500/month for up to 6 months (DAAD STIBET I funded)
Goethe University Frankfurt
Up to EUR 500 per month for a maximum of 6 months
Technical University of Munich (TUM)
One-time aid of EUR 500 to EUR 1,800 per semester; renewable up to 36 months
Heidelberg University
Varies by programme; Deutschlandstipendium pays a monthly stipend, other lines cover travel, living or fees
Ludwig-Maximilians-Universitaet Muenchen (LMU Munich)
Stipend; amount not stated on the official page, see current rate
University of Bonn
Monthly support funded via DAAD-STIBET; exact amount announced per call
University of Mannheim
Need-based award (no fixed maximum), up to one year, renewable
Julius-Maximilians-Universität Würzburg
Short-term completion grant, typically one to two months of support, funded via DAAD STIBET I
Funded by a foundation, company or non-profit. Eligibility is often narrower — a nationality, a field, or a background — which makes competition lighter if you fit.
Inlaks Shivdasani Foundation
Full Ride
Bayer Foundation (Bayer Science & Education Foundation)
Up to EUR 10,000 per request for fellowships of up to six months
J. N. Tata Endowment for the Higher Education of Indians
INR 2,000,000
Frankfurt School of Finance & Management
Partial tuition reductions varying by award (e.g. up to ~30% for MBA)
WHU – Otto Beisheim School of Management
25% tuition reduction per award; hold up to two (Merit, Excellence, Diversity, Women, Social Impact)
Narotam Sekhsaria Foundation
Repayable interest-free financial assistance, with repayment beginning one year after course completion
Funded by a foundation, company or non-profit. Eligibility is often narrower — a nationality, a field, or a background — which makes competition lighter if you fit.
Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung e.V. (KAS)
Monthly grant of ~€992 for master's, €1,400 for PhD, plus insurance contributions.
Rosa-Luxemburg-Stiftung (Rosa Luxemburg Foundation)
Monthly stipend; PhD higher rate plus mobility allowances; Master's per BAfoeG rules plus book allowance
Hanns Seidel Foundation (Hanns-Seidel-Stiftung, HSS)
PhD: ~EUR 1,450/mo + EUR 100 research allowance for ~3 yrs, plus family allowances; Master's stipend too
Heinrich Boell Foundation (Heinrich-Boell-Stiftung)
Monthly stipend plus allowances per the foundation's rates; amount not stated, varies
Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS)
EUR 992/month (Bachelor/Master) or EUR 1,400 (PhD) + health, childcare and family allowances
Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung (FES)
EUR 992/month (students) or EUR 1,500 (PhD) + health subsidy; +EUR 160/month with a child
Friedrich Naumann Foundation for Freedom (Friedrich-Naumann-Stiftung fuer die Freiheit)
Monthly stipend (reported up to ~EUR 861 for Master's) + health-insurance contribution; varies
Alfred Toepfer Stiftung & Studienstiftung des deutschen Volkes
Need-based monthly stipend ~EUR 300-1,112 plus health insurance, family allowance and networking programme
KAAD
Monthly living stipend + health insurance + travel + up to ~6 months German training; amount varies
You can find 1399 programs across Germany with tuition fees starting as low as EUR 52 (approx. USD 56). While the highest fees reach EUR 34,600 (approx. USD 37,300), the average annual cost is EUR 3,401 (approx. USD 3,670). Public universities often provide free tuition. You only pay a small fee for administration and transport each semester. Confirm the exact fee for your program on the university website.
What's the real monthly cost of living?
Your monthly budget will typically fall between EUR 850 and EUR 1,500. To get a student visa, you must show you have EUR 992 per month in a blocked account. Rent is your largest cost. Student dorms cost between EUR 200 and EUR 400. Shared apartments usually cost EUR 350 to EUR 500. You'll spend about EUR 150 to EUR 300 on food. Health insurance is mandatory and costs roughly EUR 110. List your expected monthly expenses to see how much you need to save.
Can I work while studying?
If you come from a non-EU country, you can work 140 full days or 280 half days per year. This averages to 20 hours per week during the term. The minimum wage is EUR 12.82 per hour and rises to EUR 13.90 in 2026. You can earn up to EUR 603 per month tax-free through a Minijob. Typical roles include cafe work, research assistance, or tutoring. High-paying jobs in programming can pay EUR 25 per hour. Check local job portals for student roles in your destination city.
Where do I find scholarships?
The DAAD provides the most common funding for master's and PhD students. These stipends give you EUR 992 or EUR 1,300 per month. You can also apply for the Deutschlandstipendium. It offers EUR 300 monthly based on grades and social commitment. Some private foundations help students with specific research goals in politics or the environment. Submit your scholarship applications at least six months before you travel.
Bottom line
Germany is very affordable compared to the US, UK, or Australia. You can study for free at many public universities, whereas US private colleges often cost over USD 50,000. Yearly living costs in Germany stay below EUR 18,000 (approx. USD 19,400). High minimum wages help you stay financially stable. Search for available programs in Germany to start your application today.
Germany provides many funding options for international students. You can find support through government programs, private foundations, and specific universities. Most public universities in Germany charge low fees, but living costs remain a factor. These scholarships help you cover those costs.
Government & National ScholarshipsOur partner institutions often provide direct discounts to help you manage costs. GISMA Business School offers specific grants for students who apply through official channels. These include the Women in Business Scholarship and the Principal's Scholarship. These awards can lower your tuition from the average EUR 3,401 to a much lower rate. You should check the specific requirements for each intake as they change yearly.
Application TipsStart your search early. Most deadlines occur six to nine months before the semester begins. You should prepare your documents in advance. You will need a CV, a letter of motivation, and your transcripts. Many foundations look for volunteer work or social engagement. Do not just focus on your grades. Explain how you will use your education to help others. Keep your sentences short and clear in your motivation letter. Use simple words to explain your goals. Always check if the scholarship requires a specific German language level. Some only fund English programs, while others require B2 or C1 German. Double check every deadline on the official website before you submit.
More on living costs, visas and admissions in the full Germany study guide.
Global Admissions lists 64 scholarships open to international students studying in Germany. 26 of them cover tuition in full, and 16 pay a living stipend on top.
Yes. 26 of the 64 awards listed for Germany are recorded as covering full tuition or as a full ride including living costs. Fully funded awards are the most competitive category, and most require you to hold or be applying for admission to a specific university before you apply for the money.
31 government-funded awards appear on this page, including Indonesia LPDP Scholarship 2026, DAAD Development-Related Postgraduate Courses (EPOS), Erasmus Mundus Joint Master in High Performance Computing (EUMaster4HPC). Government programmes usually carry the largest budgets and the earliest deadlines, and several attach a condition to return home for a set period after graduating.
Across the 8,893 programmes at 245 institutions in Germany in the Global Admissions catalogue, a master's degree has a median listed tuition of US$4,628 a year, with the middle half of programmes falling between US$1,700 and US$12,510. Living costs sit on top of that and are not covered by a tuition-only award.
Yes — 18 of the 64 awards listed for Germany are funded by the institution rather than by a government or foundation. University awards are typically smaller than national programmes but far less competitive, they are often assessed automatically from your admission application, and many can be combined with an external scholarship.
It depends on the award. University-administered scholarships in Germany are usually assessed alongside or after your admission application, so you apply to the programme first. Government and foundation programmes vary: some require proof of admission at the point of application, others issue a conditional award you then take to a university. Each award page on Global Admissions records which applies.
14 of the 64 awards listed here are limited to citizens of particular countries, often through a development or bilateral agreement. The remaining 50 carry no nationality restriction that we could verify, which usually means they are open to any international applicant who meets the academic criteria.
Award details are compiled from each funder's own published material and refreshed weekly; tuition figures come from the Global Admissions programme catalogue as of 2026-09-04. Always confirm deadlines and eligibility on the funder's site before applying.
We use cookies to improve your experience and analyze traffic. Read our Cookie Policy.